Pinetown Boys’ High School


Parent  Information


The School has the following facilities: Swimming pool kitted for galas and water-polo, Four Grass Sports Fields, Two Outdoor Tennis Court, One Multipurpose Sports Field, Two Outdoor Basketball Courts, School Library, Two audiovisual rooms, Technology integrated Mathematics and Science classrooms and a gym which is based on the schools premises.


Financial Details: Please contact the the school on 031 701 5046.


Enrollment Requirements: Miss. A. Willis on 031 701 5046.


Code of Conduct




Our dedicated team






Mr R. Sing (Acting Deputy Principal)


Heads of Departments


Mr. R. Sing – HOD of Geography/History/ Life Orientation/Social Science

Mr. M. Abrahams – HOD of Languages

Mr. N.A Khathi – Acting HOD of Maths and Science

Ms. J. Hofmeyr – Acting HOD of Social Sciences


Heads of Grade


Browse revisions

Grade 8 – Mr. Maharaj

Grade 9 – Mr. Griffiths

Grade 10 – Mrs. Bosch

Grade 11 – Mr. Mthembu

Grade 12 – 


Teaching Staff


Mr. A. Gounden – MATH

Mr. N.N Manqele – ZULFAL

Mrs. A. Nehanda – MATH/ PHSC

Mr. M. Khanyile – MLIT

Miss. O. Moodley – ACCN / EMS

Mrs. W. Kader – MATH/ MLIT

Mr. M. Griffiths – BSTD/ LO

Mr. K. Munsamy –ENGHL

Miss. L. Ferraz – EHGHL

Miss. C. Govender – ENGHL

Mrs. C. Denness – ENGHL

Mr. M. Jauza – ZULFAL

Mrs. P. Zulu – ZULFAL

Mrs. N. Pillay – NS/ LFSC

Miss. T. Gumede – ZULFAL

Mr. N.A Khathi – MATH

Miss. R. Maraj – GEOG

Mrs. K. Bagwandin – ENGHL/ LO

Mrs. O. Fortein – CATN/ AFRFAL

Mrs. T. Bosch – LO

Mr. P. Maharaj – AFRFAL

Miss. J. Hofmeyr – HIST

Mr. R. Sing – GEOG

Mrs. U. Chinsamy – ENGHL

Mr. K. Govender  – GEOG 

Mr. N.S Kunene – LO

Mrs. Seaward – ARTC

Miss. G. Calder – DSGN/ ARTC

Mr. M. Mugonapanja – TECH/ LFSC

Mrs. P. Naick – LFSC/ NS

Mr. J. Sullivan – MTECH/ TECH

Mr. L. Ninela – HIST

Mr. A. Ohemeng – EGD/TECH

Mr. M. Khawula – ACCN/ EMS

Miss. N.H Mnyayi – MATH/ MLIT

Miss. S. Ngema – MATH/ MLIT

Mr. Syed – PHSC/ NS

Admin Staff


School Bursar – 

Financial Secretary – 

Receptionist – 

PA to the Principal – Miss. A. Willis

Credit Controller – Mrs. B. Eksteen

Sports Director – Mr. N.S Kunene

Librarian – Mrs. T. Shepherd-Cross

Printing Technician – Mr. S. Ngcongo

Discipline Officer – Mr. C. Martin


Prefect Body


D. Nell (Head Boy)

J. Thurston (Deputy Head FET)

S.S Gumede (Deputy Head GET)


History of PBHS


Pinetown Boys’ High School came into existence in 1978 with Mr. Nourse as headmaster.  It was established on the site of the Cowies Hill Junior High School.  In 1991 Pinetown Boys’ High became multi-racial.  The first Black head boy was Bonga Zulu (2005) and the first Indian head boy was Youshen Naidoo (2011).  The school was declared a Conservancy in 2005 because of all the indigenous trees that have been planted in the grounds.  A Wall of Remembrance was also built to honour and remember all those learners and staff who have died and each year a wreath laying ceremony is held at the Wall.

The school has had 6 Headmasters so far:

Mr. Nourse (1978 – 1982)

Mr. Visser (1983 – 1988)

Mr. Brocklehurst (1989 –1997)

Mr. Bailey (1997 – 2005)

Mr. Aitken (Acting Headmaster, 2005 – 2011)

Mr. Naidoo (2011 – 2019)

Under Mr. Visser the school made a name for itself, especially in rugby and tennis. Three first team rugby players went on to represent their countries:

  • Massimo and Marcello Cuttitta played for Italy and Massimo captained the Italian team.
  • Steve Atherton played for South Africa.

The 1st tennis team was one of the topsides in KZN, having 3 junior South African players.

Since then Pinetown Boys’ High has had a number of sports stars who have played for or represented South Africa.  Some of them are:

  • Wesley Moodie – Tennis.
  • Mathew Quinn  – Athletics
  • Richard Woolrich – Triathalon
  • Claude Eksteen – Triathalon
  • Craig Peel – Hockey
  • Darren de Bruin – Waterpolo
  • Lindokuhle Ncgongo – Gymnastics
  • Mpumelelo Mkhize – Soccer
  • Shaylan Chetty – Karate

Other learners have become famous entertainers. Some of them are:

  • Loyisa McDonald – Actor
  • Terence Perkins – Aka Michael Naicker
  • Darren Simpson – Aka Whackhead from Laugh out Loud
  • Steve Peralta – Project Fame
  • Siyabonga Hlongwa represented South Africa at London’s Tate Gallery of Modern Art with a self-potrait of a hooded figure with his hands cupped.

Academically Pinetown Boys’ High has done well.  In 1981 Johannes Fedderke was the top matriculant in Natal and a large number of learners have been consistently placed in the top 30 matriculants in KZN.  Many have done well in their careers such as :

  • Jason Probert – responsible for the DSTV Mobile Drifter
  • Mark Montgomery – CEO of the largest Granite Company in SA
  • Richard Pauck – designed a computerised mechanical arm which works exactly like a human arm.
  • Michael Zuma – Sound Engineer for East Coast Radio

A number of old boys have returned to the school as teachers –Mr. Krause, Mr. Ngcongo , Mr. Nienaber, Mr. White, Mr. Van Dyk and Mr. Dayanand.


Sponsors and Supporters


  1. Fury Motor group – Our first rugby team forms part of Fury Mazda’s rugby development program which sponsors the first team on a yearly basis.
  2. Spar – Official sponsor of the PBHS XI soccer team.


Feeder Schools


  • Benjamin Pine Primary School
  • Ashley Primary School
  • Parkside Primary School
  • Sarnia Primary School
  • Pinetown Senior Primary
  • Atholl Heights Primary School
  • New Germany Primary School
  • Lyndhurst Primary School
  • John Wesley Primary School
  • Northdene Primary School
  • Malvern Primary School
  • Escombe Primary School